If you lose an Android smartphone or tablet or Wear OS watch, you could find out, lock, or erase it. If you've added a Google Account on your device, Find My Device is robotically having become on. Learn a manner to make sure that your device can be observed if it gets out of place.
To find out, lock, or erase an Android smartphone, that smartphone has to:
- Behave become on
- Be signed in to a Google Account
- Be associated with cellular statistics or Wi-Fi
- Be visible on Google Play
- Have Location has become on
- Have to Find My Device has become on
If you use your out of place smartphone for 2-step verification, you need to have a backup smartphone or backup code.
Remotely find out, lock, or erase
1. Go to android.com/find out and sign on your Google Account.
- If you were given a couple of smartphones, click on the out of place smartphone, top of the screen.
- If you are out of place smartphone has a couple of individual profiles, sign on with a Google Account at the number one profile. Learn about personal profiles.
2. The out of place smartphone gets a notification.
3. On the map, you could get statistics about which the smartphone is.
- The vicinity is approximate and might not be accurate.
- If your smartphone can't be observed, you could see its very last seemed vicinity, if available.
4. Pick what you want to do. If needed, first click on Enable lock & erase.
- Play sound: Rings your smartphone at the whole amount for 5 minutes, even though it is about to silent or vibrate.
- Secure device: Locks your smartphone collectively in conjunction with your PIN, pattern, or password. If you do now no longer have a lock, you could set one. To help someone pass returned your smartphone to you, you could add a message or smartphone massive range to the lock screen.
- Erase device: Permanently deletes all statistics for your smartphone (but might not delete SD cards). After you erase, Find My Device won't work on the smartphone.
Necessary: If you find out your smartphone after erasing, you could likely need your Google Account password to use it again.